Illusions of Death

illusions of death


Best-selling author Karlyn Campbell is ready for a new start after her recent divorce from a temperamental artist. When she receives word that her father had a stroke, she heads for Walton Springs with mixed feelings. Broderick Campbell wrote Pulitzer Prize-winning literary novels and denounced his daughter’s work as pedestrian and commercial, causing a rift that finally heals on his deathbed. Karlyn chooses to stay in the small Georgia town to write her popular Matt Collins series and decides to try her hand at true crime when Atlanta’s Rainbow Killer, Roy G. Biv, captures her interest.

Detective Logan Warner’s marriage didn’t survive after he lost his twins to a crazed killer who was never caught. He returns to his hometown’s police force and runs for police chief, happy he’s escaped big city crime and corruption. Emotionally dead, his interest in life is renewed when he falls in love with Karlyn. He begins to build a new life with her.

But the Rainbow Killer moves beyond Atlanta. He leaves a trail of dead bodies painted in bright hues in several towns north of the city. Leaving no trace evidence or DNA and choosing random victims with no apparent rhyme or reason, Roy proves unstoppable. Then he arrives in Walton Springs, threatening the peaceful town with his murder spree. With a serial killer in their back yard, Logan and Karlyn unite with the FBI to find the killer—before he finds them.

Praise for Illusions of Death:

“I loved this book. It kept my attention throughout!”

“Lauren Linwood is a new author for me, and I will definitely be checking out her other books. I would recommend this book to everyone.”

“Before you start reading, make sure you have a few hours as you won’t want to put it down until you find out who the murderer is!”

Download your copy from or

Join Amazon Kindle Unlimited 30-Day Free Trial

Leave a Reply